Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

20 Feb

This last weekend I was blessed with the ability to go back east to New York for my Grandma’s memorial service. I did not think I was going to make it out for it, but last minute my Mom made it possible for me. That was the true treasure of the week for me. Just being there, with my family, seeing all of them, having conversations years in the making, feeling the emotion that comes with loss, and remembering the years that my Grandma and Grandpa were in our lives.

All of us reminisced about the cottage my Grandparents had in Glenora, New York. My cousin Michael was able to let me tag along with him to see this wonderful little place once more, even though they have not lived there for many years now, we all still find it rooted in our memories.

DSC_0143The church where the memorial service was held is the same church my parents both attended every Sunday growing up. It has beautiful windows, that area treasure the new church’s of today have left behind.

DSC_0058

DSC_0070A treasured memory from the past:

greatgrandmabMy Grandma with my daughter, taken about 4 years ago, my Grandma had recently turned 90.

I also was lucky enough to bring a few treasures home with me to share with my kids and remind me of my Grandma, however nothing was as treasured to me as getting to spend a couple of days processing with my family. Of course I would not have realized how much I had missed out on if I had not gone, but it was better than I had imagined. I think it was  a combination of being an adult (with no kids to distract me) and having all of us there at one time, that allowed me to have some really nice conversations.

I hope that all of you have had a nice week and are looking forward to a good weekend. :)

 

5 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure”

  1. norasphotos4u February 21, 2014 at 5:15 am #

    Such lovely memories – and the picture of your grandmother and daughter is stunning.

  2. Coral Swan February 21, 2014 at 4:49 pm #

    Love the photos of the stained glass windows in the Church – beautiful and inspirational treasures. Let’s hope they stay that way for hundreds of years.
    What a gorgeous shot of G’ma and daughter… a real treasure!
    Coral

    • emiliabrasier February 23, 2014 at 4:32 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by.

      • Coral Swan March 7, 2014 at 4:19 pm #

        I look forward to your blogs and photos.

Leave a Reply

