Singing in the Rain Part 2

17 Feb

After the end of the planned Singing in the Rain event some of the dancers who took part in the event stuck around and decided to dance to music they played on a boombox. These young men are a part of the Salem Cypher Connection which is a break dancing club that is trying to bring awareness of the art in hip hop. Kind of cool right?

I have to say that although it was neat to see how much of the Salem community turned out for the planned event that took place a few minutes earlier this was my favorite part of the day. We were able to get up to the edges of the dance floor and watch. My kids enjoyed this a lot. I enjoyed trying to capture just what it was that I wanted to capture now that there was a smaller crowd and I could place myself better.

The young men dancing were: Polie Lopez, Rick Ahumada, Franky Garcia, Jimmy Rodriguez, & Pedro Morales. I am not entirely sure who is who or that I got a shot of each of them but they were all really fun to watch. You can check out the Salem Cypher Connection online on Facebook.

I started out using a faster shutter speed but quickly realized that this was one of those times when I really wanted to be able to see their movement in the photo. So here we go…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

See part 1 of this day here.

4 Responses to “Singing in the Rain Part 2”

  1. Jennifer Carley February 18, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    Great job catching the talent! I hope you posted these on their Facebook page!

    • emiliabrasier February 18, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

      I have let them know and received permission from them. I am going to post a link to their page too. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Singing in the Rain: Salem Dancing in the Street « Emilia Brasier Photography - February 18, 2012

    […] back tomorrow for part two (my favorite part of the day and […]

  2. Weekly Photography Challenge: Fresh | Emilia Brasier Photography - March 25, 2015

    […] bloom and were greeted by rain showers. The fresh rain was a lot of fun for my kids to stomp their rain boots in, but we did spend only a short time out in it. Although it was rainy it was actually fun to see […]

Leave a Reply

