Singing in the Rain: Salem Dancing in the Street

17 Feb

This last weekend we went down to visit my Mom and wish my Dad a happy birthday. My Mom was excited to go to an event in downtown Salem that was designed to get people to show their love for the capital city of Oregon.

Ahead of time people were to go online and learn a few simple dance moves and then descend upon downtown Salem and dance to the song Singing in the Rain on Saturday to show their love for Salem. There was also a small stage at the front of the dancing crowd that had a variety of dancers with different styles each for very short segments of the song.

My kids enjoy this kind of thing and so does my Mom (I enjoy the opportunity to take out my camera). My Mom, husband, and two small children set off to participate, watch, and photograph this fun little event.

It was a bit difficult to keep a good eye on my 2 year old and take photographs but I did my best. My mom helped out some and so did my husband although he was up on top of the parking garage watching with my 5 year old most of the time.

Look at all the umbrellas!

According the people holding the event this is the most famous man in Salem…Gerry Frank.

Check back tomorrow for part two (my favorite part of the day and photographically).

Part 2

3 Responses to “Singing in the Rain: Salem Dancing in the Street”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Singing in the Rain Part 2 « Emilia Brasier Photography - February 18, 2012

    […] part 1 of this day here. Share with your Friends:MoreEmailDiggShare on TumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. WP Weekly Photography Challenge: Depth | Emilia Brasier Photography - February 5, 2015

    […] All photographs were taken at Tom McCall wildlife area in the Columbia Gorge in Oregon. […]

  3. Weekly Photography Challenge: Fresh | Emilia Brasier Photography - March 25, 2015

    […] a short time out in it. Although it was rainy it was actually fun to see many people out with their umbrellas walking around the cherry […]

Leave a Reply

