Discover Pink: Team Margaret

28 Oct

Two years ago my best friend lost her year long battle with breast cancer. She was 29 years old and left behind a plethora of people who were devastated at losing this vibrant, caring, daughter, wife, mother, and friend.

From the time that she was diagnosed a week after the birth of my daughter my Mom began planning ways to help support my friend and myself. One of the ways that she found was to gather a group of people to walk with the YWCA (Salem, Oregon) Discover Pink breast cancer walk.

My Mom and I have continued to walk in this walk, along with many others who loved and supported Margaret. I choose to walk Discover Pink over Koman simply because it is based in Salem, Oregon the town that Margaret and I met and attended junior high and high school in. The money raised from this walk goes to help people in the community who can not afford diagnosis and treatment pay for it.

The walk this year was held at the Salem Conference Center and passed through the Salem River Front taking us by the Salem Carousel, the Earth Ball, and over the Salem Foot Bridge that was converted in more recent years from a train bridge. It was a beautiful Oregon fall day, crisp, sunny, and cool. Walkers were cheered on and directed by Derby Girls.

This year is the forth time we have walked. We walk with Margaret’s parents, mother-in-law, children, my family, high school friends, and many others who show up to support her family and myself. I am grateful to all who come walk with us and help me to remember my friend and give back to the community, hopefully making it so that another person is more fortunate.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

You can read about my day of remembering here. Read words from Margaret about her Punch Fight With Cancer here.

One Response to “Discover Pink: Team Margaret”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Photography Challenge: Nighttime | Emilia Brasier Photography - October 1, 2014

    […] happy October, also known as breast cancer awareness month. This weekend I head to the Discover Pink walk which I do in memory of my best friend […]

Leave a Reply

