Turning Six

1 Dec

When my son was born I took photos of him constantly. I think I had ten thousand photographs of him during his first year. Ten thousand! I did really like have a photo every week on the day of the week he was born and every month.

He loves to ham it up for the camera, he loves to hold the camera, instruct others one how they should stand, and take the photo himself.

Oddly he does not much like cooperate the way that I would like him to for a birthday portrait. At least not quite the same way he did when he was six months old and would sit on a bench, gaze up at me with his big blue eyes, and give me the biggest smile ever.

We took these photos at a near by park. The two weeks leading up to his birthday were chilly but in the afternoons the light had been perfectly shinning on this tree with yellow leaves. The leaves had fallen on the ground and created a carpet of yellow. I kept thinking oh man I should just take the pictures today, it is not raining, they have not come to rake the leaves. Unfortunately, I waited.

On his birthday it was chilly, raining, and when we got to the park…the leaves had been cleaned up. He refused to put on pants and then was way too cold. He switched between acting grumpy and goofy, my daughter was hanging to my legs the whole time trying to pull me to the car. Rain was getting all over my lens…overall not my favorite experience.

Oh well. The pictures do show his personality and I think they will actually show off the general mood of the day better than perfect pictures.

AB6bday1

Feeling cold, he refused to put on pants.

Feeling cold, he refused to put on pants.

Trying to be grumpy.

Trying to be grumpy.

Being his goofy self.

Being his goofy self.

2 Responses to “Turning Six”

  1. SimplySage December 1, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    That yellow tree is beautiful. Know what you mean about capturing those perfect moments. Once they’re gone, they’re gone. How many times has it happened to me!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Portraits of a 6 Year Old: Vancouver, WA | Emilia Brasier Photography - September 22, 2015

    […] available to my kids. So for now I am free to explore my options and take landscape, close up, and portrait photographs as I see fit. […]

Leave a Reply

