Modified Style Portland: Clothing Swap

17 Feb

Sometimes things happy with such serendipity. Like the opportunity to do some photography for this wonderful fundraiser in Portland called Modified Style.  Modified Style raises money for three different organizations in Portland: Sisters of the Road, The Pixie Project, and Bark. They hold a fashion show where designers create new designs out of found and donated scrap fabric. Cool right?

I would never have known about this awesome benefit in Portland except that a girl that I went to elementary school with forwarded me an e-mail she received from another person we went to elementary school with who now is Vice President of Modified Style. This women was reaching out to find people to donate to the cause.

Well years ago my father played in benefit concerts for Sisters of the Road (his band played in this benefit show many different years). I figured that this would be a great project for me to find a way to include myself in. I e-mailed Amy (the Vice President of Modified Style) and told her that I would love to volunteer possibly doing photography or anything else they needed.

They eventually did need a photographer for the clothing swap they were having. I attended this fun party and took pictures. I have to say this event was a ton of fun and I am so glad I got to go. The darkness made shooting difficult and the clothing swappers were so serious!

Here are a few of the photos from the event. If you live in the Portland area I encourage you to check out Modified Style.

One Response to “Modified Style Portland: Clothing Swap”

  1. Jennifer Carley February 18, 2013 at 9:22 am #

    What a fun event. Great job, especially considering that low light situation.

Leave a Reply

