Watkins Glen, New York

14 Nov

The amazing and always beautiful Watkins Glen situated in upstate New York right off of picturesque Seneca Lake, was one of the places I really wanted to visit again while visiting my relatives in New York. I have gone on this hike several times in my life but up until now all of them had been as a youth.

My Grandparents graciously took me to Watkins Glen but decided they only wanted to hike to the first set of long steep stairs. I made it all the way to the top of the last set of very long steep stairs and spent much of the hike alternating between jogging the trail and stopping to take photos.

If you ever have the chance to be in the area I highly recommend this hike, it is adorned with waterfalls that twist and turn in the path of the narrow steep cliffs of slate.

watkinsglen10

flightyseed1

chipmonk

watkinsglenwall

watkinsglen14

watkinsglen11

watkinsglen12

watkinsglen13

watkinsglen4

watkinsglen3

watkinsglen2

watkinsglen1

Now that I have photographed Watkins Glen once,  I would really like to go back and do it again at another time of day, and with a tripod. 🙂

 

 

7 Responses to “Watkins Glen, New York”

  1. KidazzleInk.com November 14, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

    Lovely area. Those waterfall shots are beautiful.

  2. SimplySage November 14, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

    Beautiful. Looks like you did a great job without a tripod. Excellent photos.

    • emiliabrasier November 14, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

      Thanks! There were a few that I didn’t share that would have had lots of potential with a tripod. Plus it is so beautiful I would love to return anyway. 🙂

      • SimplySage November 14, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

        The waterfalls are incredible! I honestly thought you had used a tripod.

  3. norasphotos4u November 15, 2013 at 7:26 am #

    Gorgeous photos – cool rock formations

    • emiliabrasier November 15, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

      Thank you. The cliffs are amazing in that area. I visited a restaurant that is built into the side of a cliff so you can see out in the restaurant. Water trickles through the rocks. It is really neat.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Photography of Multnomah Falls | Emilia Brasier Photography - February 3, 2016

    […] has its fair share of beautiful hikes, landscapes, and waterfalls to be sure. If you only think of New York as the Big Apple you should really check out one of my posts from trips I have taken out […]

Leave a Reply

