Grandma in the Garden

29 Nov

One of the big reasons that I took my trip out to New York was to visit my Grandma on my Father’s side. She is now 93 years old and although she has a lung tumor, she still works out in the garden every chance she gets. She says it is her therapy.

It was fall, so unfortunately, the garden was not in its full glory, but what I really wanted was a picture of her outside near it. She was a bit worn out, having worked for a while in the garden already, but she is looking good overlooking her yard. We sat here and I recorded a couple of short stories before she got tired. I decided I wanted to record her telling me some stories, because it is what I remember most about her, every time I talk to her she tells me about a memory from the past and her life. Interestingly she told me a few stories I had never heard before, and none that she usually tells.

gmrI love her, I admire how much she loved my Grandfather and how she always has something good to say about him, I love that she works in the garden all spring, summer, and fall until the weather is just too horrible, and I hope that she gets to continue to do so next spring.

Here are my finial pictures from New York. Soon I will share my Maine photos. 🙂 I hope you all had a good day to give thanks with your friends or families and have a great weekend.

This is part of a bank vault in what is now an art gallery for community artists in Elmira, NY. You can walk in to look at jewelry in the vault.

This is part of a bank vault in what is now an art gallery for community artists in Elmira, NY. You can walk in to look at jewelry in the vault.

berriesny1

My Grandma used to live a few houses away from this waterfall, my parents used to swim at the base of it. Can you imagine having it in your back yard, literally?

My Grandma used to live a few houses away from this waterfall, my parents used to swim at the base of it. Can you imagine having it in your back yard, literally?

leaf2

leafny1

A waterfall in Watkins Glen (not the state park the town)

A waterfall in Watkins Glen (not the state park the town)

7 Responses to “Grandma in the Garden”

  1. SimplySage November 30, 2013 at 6:12 am #

    Beautiful. So full of grace. She looks like my aspiration if I reach that age. Peace and joy. Nicely done.

  2. norasphotos4u December 1, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

    I love your sentiments of your grand mother. Great set of photos

  3. elPadawan December 4, 2013 at 3:32 am #

    Very nice portrait, I hope I’ll look half as good and reach her age one day :).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | Emilia Brasier Photography - March 28, 2014

    […] this photo challenge I am choosing to share some photographs I took while in Corning, NY this last fall during the government shutdown. I have the privileged of having a family that has […]

Leave a Reply

