Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections

21 Mar

Happy Friday everyone. I am looking forward to these weekend because I get to head to the Coast for a bit. Before I go I thought I would leave you with some photographs of flower. I took these last summer at Lewis & Clark College, where I attended college. I go running at Lewis & Clark every week and last summer I managed to arrive about an hour early.

colorfulbud2

I almost always find photography to be an outlet and time for reflection and for some reason being at my Alma mater really makes me start reflecting on the past ten years of my life since graduating. During my time at Lewis & Clark I had the privilege of going overseas to Kenya and Tanzania.

orangeandredflowers1

While I was there the Twin Towers and Pentagon were attacked. I have to say that reflecting back on that time, I can really see how lucky I was to be where I was during that attack.

redandorangeflower3

I have a completely different perspective than most Americans about that event and the direction our country has taken since.

redandorangebloom4I like that I get to return to Lewis & Clark often and reflect on my time there and my life since.

beeeating1Have a wonderful weekend, I hope you find some time for reflection this weekend. πŸ™‚ You can connect up with the WordPress weekly photo challenge also if you want to join in the fun. πŸ™‚

 

 

28 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections”

  1. kerlund74 March 21, 2014 at 9:40 am #

    Such beautiful photos, you have done an excellent work with depth of field:)

  2. eclecticoddsnsods March 21, 2014 at 9:51 am #

    I just love flower photos, can never go wrong with me

  3. sustainabilitea March 21, 2014 at 3:16 pm #

    Beautiful photos, Emilia.

    janet

  4. norasphotos4u March 22, 2014 at 6:53 am #

    Beautiful photos and as well as your reflective thoughts

  5. SimplySage March 22, 2014 at 8:11 am #

    Wow, beautiful photos. Thoughts, too.

  6. Tina Schell March 23, 2014 at 12:04 pm #

    Interesting story to go with the lovely captures. But you didn’t tell us what your perspective about the attack WAS!!

    • emiliabrasier March 27, 2014 at 10:10 am #

      Ha ha. Your right I didn’t! Partly because I don’t actually have pictures from that trip for this post. What I will say is we were residing in a 98% Muslim area and traveled to an all boys Mosque college on September the 12. They performed a mourning ceremony for us and they were truly devastated by the attacks as well. They played us music, read us scripture, and wrote us poetry. They tried to let us into their beliefs and help us realize the attacks were not Islamic, but extremist. I believe that those attacks negatively affected the Muslim population greatly. I also saw that although many people in Kenya and Tanzania felt for us they also could see why we have become targets. I wonder based on this experience how our actions could have been different and why the USA has gone in many of the directions it has since, in regard to the liberties of the people who reside here. I could become more political, but that is not the focus of this blog so I won’t. πŸ™‚

  7. Gerry C. April 18, 2014 at 3:01 pm #

    Bravo! I like the flower and the bee. That must have taken a lot of patience and setuptime for the shot. Thanks for sharing.

    • emiliabrasier April 18, 2014 at 3:06 pm #

      Thank you. The photograph of the bee taught me something important about bees, they are slower to move when it gets cooler. So as the sun was setting the bees didn’t move from flower to flower as quickly. That is not to say it didn’t take some time to get this shot though. Thanks for the comment. πŸ™‚

  8. neihtn2012 December 30, 2014 at 5:40 am #

    Also missed this one. 😦 Great macro shots with wonderful colors and subjects.

    • emiliabrasier December 30, 2014 at 8:38 am #

      Thanks for coming to check it out! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reflections… | Words 'n Pics... - March 21, 2014

    […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Emilia Brasier Photography […]

  2. Weekly Photo Challenge – Reflections | Chittle Chattle - March 21, 2014

    […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Emilia Brasier Photography […]

  3. Weekly Photo Challenge – Reflections | Just Snaps - March 21, 2014

    […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Emilia Brasier Photography […]

  4. Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | A mom's blog - March 21, 2014

    […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Emilia Brasier Photography […]

  5. Reflect In Me #photography #poetry | Moondustwriter's Blog - March 21, 2014

    […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Emilia Brasier Photography […]

  6. Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | What's (in) the picture? - March 21, 2014

    […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Emilia Brasier Photography […]

  7. Reflections: Weekly Photo Challenge | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND! - March 21, 2014

    […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Emilia Brasier Photography […]

  8. 3-21-14 egnellahC otohP ylkeeW: Reflections | The Quotidian Hudson - March 21, 2014

    […] https://emiliabrasierphotography.wordpress.com/2014/03/21/weekly-photo-challenge-reflections/ – this one is especially for The Accidental Cootchie Mama –Β http://andrawatkins.com/2014/03/21/join-me-at-nashvilles-parnassus-books-on-april-3/ […]

  9. Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Through the Eye of Bastet - March 22, 2014

    […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Emilia Brasier Photography […]

  10. Weekly Photo Challenge: Humbled Relections | Humbled Pie - March 25, 2014

    […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Emilia Brasier Photography […]

  11. Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Life is great - March 31, 2014

    […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | Emilia Brasier Photography […]

  12. My Photography: 2014 in Review | Emilia Brasier Photography - December 29, 2014

    […] Blueberry bushes. […]

Leave a Reply

