Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument

16 Apr

Monuments are all around us and sometimes go completely unnoticed because they become part of the back ground of our life instead of something to take notice of every time we see them.

While visiting Salem, I love to do photography, because I almost always have my Mom around to help with the kids. This allows me to step back and see my children and the surroundings a bit more. I can take notice of the background, instead of staying focused on what is right in front of me.

I also notice that living near particular monuments, statues, or  other wonders often makes them become almost unnoticed, or filtered out of your life, because you are occupied with everyday things. Having grown up in Salem, Oregon the Gold Man on top of the Capitol building became a bit like that for me. I find I notice it much more now that I do not live there.

On this particular day my Mom, my children, and I met at a farmers market. It was a fantastically beautiful Oregon day, perfect for jumping in the fountain in front of the Capitol building and photographing the surroundings.

These were my favorite photographs that included the beautiful Gold Man that is standing proud on top of the Oregon Capitol building.

This is a place people can visit and venture up loads of stairs to get to the top of the building and over look Salem. It is also a place that I watched my Father preform with his band Wooden Music on the steps outside, although he also preformed inside for the Senate. I also had the privilege of singing inside with my elementary school choir. I was a page there for a while in elementary school as well. I had ornaments I created hung on trees inside at Christmas time a few years in a row (made with my elementary school).

I also remember using the fountain for summertime water play. As you can see though it was such a common place to see and be at growing up, that I didn’t take much notice of the magnificence at the time.

 

monument1

monument2

monument3

If you want to join the weekly photo challenge you can at the Daily Post.

3 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument”

  1. Del April 17, 2014 at 5:58 am #

    Emilia, this is a great posting.

  2. Gill McGrath April 18, 2014 at 3:11 am #

    I like the one with the inside of the parasol and the one with the little girl running with it. Hope the gold man doesn’t mind.me not mentioning him, I don’t suppose he does because he knows the story about what happened between the two shots! (They are all great shots by the way)

Leave a Reply

