Something New: A Maternity Photo Shoot

25 May

About a week ago I tried something new, I took maternity photographs.

matern17bw

I had not explored the world of maternity photography before, but it is a set of photography skills I would like to have as maternity, labor, and newborn photography have always sparked my interest.

matern22

I am always very nervous when photographing people so I don’t tend to wander in that direction often, but this is a kind of portraiture I think I could really enjoy once I got comfortable with my own skills in posing, which means practice!

maternity7

I enlisted my wonderful cousin and his amazing wife who are expecting their second child and we headed to a nearby nature area for these photographs.

matern23

All in all I was pretty happy with the results and I learned a lot about what I could do differently next time, which is always important. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

4 Responses to “Something New: A Maternity Photo Shoot”

  1. Indah Susanti May 25, 2014 at 9:27 pm #

    Really nice shots! I did a couple maternity shots for my friends and I know it is not easy! You did a great job!

    • emiliabrasier May 25, 2014 at 9:36 pm #

      Thanks, I have the most difficulty with guiding expressions. Overall I was quite happy though. 🙂

  2. norasphotos4u May 26, 2014 at 6:37 am #

    Nice shots! I’ve never really gotten into people photography (except family) so hats off to you on this shoot!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Welcoming the New: Newborn Photography | Emilia Brasier Photography - June 13, 2014

    […] his wife, and son welcomed into their family a new member last week. I had just finished editing the maternity photographs I took with them about two weeks ago when I heard she was […]

Leave a Reply

