Event Photography: Vancouver, WA Girlfriends Run for a Cure 2015

13 Oct

Last year I ran my first half marathon in honor of my best friend Margaret who died of breast cancer when she was 29 years old leaving behind two small children. I was also running for a friend from my first Mom’s group Jen who had been going though breast cancer treatment for months by October (go #teamunicornfarts). My Grandmother had also had breast cancer twice, but luckily it seems treatments helped her.

The race that I ran was called the Girlfriends Race for a Cure, put on in Vancouver, WA and it benefits more than one breast cancer group including Komen, the Kearney Breast Cancer Center through the pink brigade (men who have raised at least $500, the only way for men to participate), and the Children’s Center through the kids mini marathon.

Well unfortunately I have not been running as much this past year and was not up to running the race this year, but that made it possible for me to help out by taking photographs of the race when the volunteer coordinator for Why Racing, Kristi Cornwell, asked if I was available.

So in honor of my friends and family, the struggle they have both endured and succumbed to I did my own kind of 1/2 marathon this year, a photography marathon. 😉 I spent nearly 5 hours photographing the evening in downtown Vancouver, Washington which spans from Northwest Personal training, to the downtown farmers market, the Columbia River Esplanade, Fort Vancouver, and back. I did my own small share of running to try and make it to each of these spots on the course ahead of the bulk of the runners, but I was helped by a car for much of it. 🙂

The course is beautiful and it is such a supportive event, I was happy to be there in this role this year and we will see what next year brings.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Responses to “Event Photography: Vancouver, WA Girlfriends Run for a Cure 2015”

  1. norasphotos4u October 14, 2015 at 4:22 am #

    Great photos Emilia. My mom had breast cancer at age 47 and died at 59. What makes me hopeful these days is that the diagnosis is out in the open. In the 70’s when my mom had it – you spoke of it in whispers – like it was something embarrassing. I am so glad times have changed on this.

    • emiliabrasier October 14, 2015 at 7:08 pm #

      Thank you. Yes the stigma has changed a lot which is really good. It would be great to have a break through in treatment and prevention as well. I am sorry to hear about loss of you mom, it looks like she had a long battle.

Leave a Reply

